Skip to main content

Awards and Research

Undergraduate Awards

The Frederick S. Deibler Award for Distinguished Honors Thesis is awarded each year to graduating seniors who have written exemplary senior theses. The Frederick S. Deibler Award for Excellence in Economics is awarded to graduating seniors who achieve the best performances in economic coursework. Frederick Deibler was a faculty member of the Economics Department from 1904-1942. A native of Indiana, Professor Deibler received his BA from Harvard in 1904 and his PhD from University of Wisconsin in 1909. His main research interests were labor markets and organizations, and his book “Principles of Economics” was first published in 1929. The Deibler Awards were established upon Professor Deibler’s retirement from Northwestern in 1942. Read a full history of his teaching and professional career.

The Robert Eisner Award for Undergraduate Research is awarded to the graduating senior who demonstrates superb talent in conducting undergraduate research in economics. Robert Eisner was the William R. Kenan professor of economics at Northwestern from 1952-1998. He was recognized throughout the United States for his expertise and knowledge of macroeconomics and the economics of business cycles. He was a regular contributor to the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune and The Los Angeles Times, primarily covering national economic policy and reform. Read a full history of his teaching and professional career.

All three awards are presented at the Economics Senior Lunch on Commencement Day.

Undergraduate Research Funding

The Dwight M. Jaffee Endowed Fund for Undergraduate Economics Student Research and Scholarships was established in 2007 to support senior thesis research by undergraduate honors students in the Department of Economics. Dwight Jaffee received his B.A. in economics from Northwestern in 1964 and his Ph.D. in economics from MIT in 1968. He was a professor of economics at Princeton University from 1968 to 1991, and then at University of California, Berkeley until his death in 2016. During his academic career, Dwight established himself as a leading scholar in mortgage markets, banking, risk and catastrophe insurance and was a dedicated mentor to countless undergraduate and graduate students. Read more about Professor Jaffee’s career and contributions.

The Robert Coen Fellowship was established through the generosity of former students in honor of Professor Robert Coen.  The intention of the award is to support summer research or thesis preparation for students entering their senior year as well as support student research projects. 

Back to top