Skip to main content

Senior Lunch & Awards Ceremony

Friday, June 21, 2019 | Noon-2:00PM

White Auditorium, Kellogg Global Hub


To graduating Economics majors: 

We hope that you will attend our annual lunch on Friday, June 21, 2019 to honor and celebrate your graduation from Northwestern and, specifically, from the best department in the University!  The lunch in your honor will start at Noon, and will follow the graduation ceremonies. Make your way back to campus on the shuttle buses and get off at the Garrett Place stop. Walking directions may be found here. We will be serving cool drinks, sandwiches and desserts. Many of our faculty will be there and we would like to get the chance to congratulate you and also to say nice things about you to your family and friends.

About 1:00PM, we will also be giving out the awards to the students who were awarded honors for their senior theses, those who have received Deibler or Eisner Awards for particularly outstanding senior theses or overall records in economics, and also the students who completed the BA/MA degree.

You are not required to attend the awards ceremony. So even if you are not an award recipient, we would love for you to show up to introduce your family to the professors, take some pictures, and grab some lunch between noon and 1pm.

It's a very nice event and we hope you can make it.  Electronic invitations will be sent out to all Econ graduates and faculty in May 2019.

Mark Witte
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Department of Economics

 *More information may be found on the University's Commencement Page.


Congratulations 2018 graduates!

We are proud of the 300 plus Economic Major/Minor students who graduated this year! Obama speechwriter Cody Keenan '02 encouraged the Class of 2018 to stay hopeful and engaged, no matter the path they pursue- read more here. Photos from the Commencement Ceremony can be viewed here

2018 award winners


Pictured: 2018 Award Winners (below) with Alfred W. Chase Professor; Department Chair, Lawrence Christiano and Professor of Instruction, James Hornsten

Frederick S. Deibler Awards for Excellence in Economics

David Chen Zachary Herron Lai Jiang  Parth Rajwade


Robert Eisner Award for Undergraduate Research

Michael Cahana*
The Distributional Impacts of Real-Time Pricing in the Spanish Residential Electricity Market


Frederick S. Deibler Awards for Distinguished Honors Thesis

Filippo Maggioni*
Mutual Guarantee Societies and Soft Information Signals
Emily Vogt*
The Cognitive and Economic Implications of Nonmedical Adderall & Prescription Stimulant Use on College Campuses
Yuqi Zhang*
A Study of the Economies of Scale of Light Rail Transit in the United States


Departmental Honors

Kiyrie Abernethy
Predicting Demand in Bike Share Systems
Mackenzie Lee
The Impact of Subway Access on Property Prices: Analysis of New York City's Second Avenue Subway
Xinyi Liu
College Major Choice under Financial Constraint: How do low income students choose majors compared to the representative student body at Northwestern?
Sangwoo Park
Does Transit Availability Affect the Responsiveness of Drivers to Gas Prices?
Parth Rajwade
The Effects of Having High Status Goals on Subjective Well-Being
Eliott Sassouni
The Paradox of ETFs’ Passivity: Can the Intentional Diversification of ETFs lead to Unintentional Consequences?
Lillian Siegel
Analyzing the Women's Suffrage Movement and the 19th Amendment of 1920 on Health Outcomes
Matthew Stadnicki
Links between School Choice and Home Prices

*The Eisner Award winner and the Deibler Award for Distinguished Honors Thesis winners also received Departmental Honors.


The Frederick S. Deibler Award for Distinguished Honors Thesis is awarded each year to graduating seniors who have written exemplary senior theses. The Frederick S. Deibler Award for Excellence in Economics is awarded to graduating seniors who achieve the best performances in economic coursework. Frederick Deibler was a faculty member of the Economics Department from 1904-1942. A native of Indiana, Professor Deibler received his BA from Harvard in 1904 and his PhD from University of Wisconsin in 1909. His main research interests were labor markets and organizations, and his book “Principles of Economics” was first published in 1929. The Deibler Awards were established upon Professor Deibler’s retirement from Northwestern in 1942.

The Robert Eisner Award for Undergraduate Research is awarded to the graduating senior who demonstrates superb talent in conducting Public Policy undergraduate research in economics. Robert Eisner was a member of the Northwestern faculty from 1952-1994. Professor Eisner was recognized throughout the United States for his expertise and knowledge of macroeconomics and the economics of business cycles. He served as President of the American Economic Association in 1988 and was a regular contributor to the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune and The Los Angeles Times, primarily covering national economic policy and reform. Read a full history of his teaching and professional career.


Back to top