Skip to main content


The Department of Economics is comprised of faculty members, instructors and visiting scholars, as well as graduate students and staff members. Use this section of the website to find information about them. You can also access contact information for any core faculty and staff members in our Department Directory. 

Search the Department Directory

Faculty Members

Our outstanding faculty members are known for the quality of their teaching and contributions to the field. Seventeen Northwestern economists are elected fellows of the Econometric Society. Twenty-eight are faculty research fellows or research associates of the National Bureau of Economic Research. Among department faculty are several former editors of Econometrica. Our faculty have served as presidents of professional societies, and have taken leaves for public service in Washington, D.C. Longtime faculty member the late Dale Mortensen was the winner of the 2010 Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.

Northwestern's economics community 

In addition to the 45 faculty in the Economics Department, approximately twice as many economists in total can be found in other departments on campus including in the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science, the Kellogg School of Management, and the School of Education and Social Policy. Many of these faculty in other Schools and departments teach courses which have economic content. See a list of these economists.

Department Staff and Administration

Find the Department's key leadership and administrators, or browse our staff listing.

Graduate Students

Our Ph.D. program has about 120 students in residence.

Back to top