Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics

Lecture and Conference

In 1994, bequests to Northwestern University from the late Erwin Esser Nemmers, a former member of the Northwestern University faculty, and his brother, the late Frederic E. Nemmers, led to the establishment of four endowed professorships in the Kellogg School of Management, and biennial prizes in economics, mathematics, music composition and more recently medical science, and earth sciences. The Nemmers family ran a church music publishing house in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The prize in economics is named in honor of the Nemmers' father.

The Nemmers' hoped that their prizes would carry with them the prestige attached to the Nobel prizes. They are designed to recognize "work of lasting significance" and in particular, recognize "major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis." The Nemmers prize is awarded every two years.

2016 Nemmers Prize Winner

Richard Blundell
University College London

Northwestern University is pleased to announce the awarding of the 2016 Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics to Sir Richard Blundell.  Sir Richard is the David Ricardo Professor of Political Economy at University College London and the research director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies in the United Kingsom.  The award was made "based on his important contributions to labor economics, public finance and applied econometrics."  

Professor Blundell is scheduled to visit Northwestern during May and November 2017.

Read the formal announcement, and his biographical information.


"Household Behavior and the Dynamics of Inequality"
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
Free and Open to the Public
McCormick Auditorium, James L. Allen Center

Read more about the lecture and Professor Blundell.


Thursday and Friday, May 18 -19, 2017
Free registration required by May 9
McCormick Auditorium, James L. Allen Center

Read more about the conference.

Previous Nemmers Prize Winners

Name and Date Won


Relevent Link

Jean Tirole
Nobel Laureate 2014

Jean Tirole

Lecture, Conference and Short Course

Daron Acemoglu

Lecture, Conference and Short Course

Elhanan Helpman

Lecture and Conference

Paul Milgrom

Lecture and Conference

Lars Peter Hansen
Nobel Laureate 2013

Lecture and Conference

Ariel Rubinstein

Lecture and Conference

Edward C. Prescott
Nobel Laureate 2004

Daniel McFadden
Nobel Laureate 2000

Robert Aumann
Nobel Laureate 2005

Thomas Sargent
Nobel Laureate 2011

Peter Diamond
Nobel Laureate 2010