Skip to main content


Our Programs and Curriculum


Economics at Northwestern


Our world-class department owes its reputation to outstanding faculty dedicated to teaching and research, as well as engaged students who take advantage of learning opportunities in and beyond the classroom.

The Economics major and minor are open to all undergraduates. The Ph.D. program has 120 students in residence and an entering class of 25. 

More about the Department

Our Faculty


Learn about faculty accomplishments, publications and news.

faculty image

Meet our Faculty

Our distinguished faculty includes fellows of the American Economic Association, members of the National Academy of Sciences and editors of the American Economic Review and other prestigious journals. Longtime faculty member Dale Mortensen was winner of the 2010 Nobel Prize for Economics.

Read faculty profiles.

generic image of publications

Recent Publications

Charles Manski

Manski interviewed by Economic Theory

Former Northwestern faculty member Elie Tamer takes readers on a journey through Charles Manski's career of path breaking work.

Read the Article
Mar Reguant

Reguant Wins Prestigious Award

Mar Reguant was awarded the 2017 Banco Sabadell Foundation Award for her research in energy and environmental economics. This prize is given to the top Spanish economist under the age of 40.

Read about the award

Mokyr Named Distinguished Fellow of the AEA

Joel Mokyr was named a Distinguished Fellow of the American Economic Association for his invaluable contributions to our understanding of economic growth and technological change. 



Economics Video Series


Learn about the innovative research of our faculty.

News and Events


Weekly Seminars

economics seminar
Our weekly seminars bring renowned economists from universities around the globe. Explore all 6 of our seminar series, which are held in fall and spring quarters.

See all Seminars


Economics 501: Graduate Student Seminar

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Evanston

Jiachen Ma (Northwestern University) "Auction with Budget-Constrained Business Insiders and Deep-Pocket Outside Investors”    

More Events


Northwestern Economic Students Attend Clinton Global Initiative University
Martin Eichenbaum's column: State-dependent effects of monetary policy: The refinancing channel
Joel Mokyr receives Allan Sharlin Memorial Book Award for A Culture of Growth: The Origins of the Modern Economy
Video Recording: A Conversation with Dr. Charles Evans, President of the Chicago Federal Reserve

Read the News

Back to top