Skip to main content



Video Recording: A Conversation with Dr. Charles Evans, President of the Chicago Federal Reserve

November 7, 2018
Political Union and the Department of Economics welcomed Dr. Charles Evans, President of the Chicago Federal Reserve, to Northwestern University on October 23, 2018. Dr. Evans spoke in dialogue with Professor Eichenbaum about his experience serving as the President of the Chicago Federal Reserve and the crucial monetary policy issues surrounding the current economy. To view the recording of the event, please click the title.

Daley Kutzman, Scott Ogawa and Eric Schulz chosen to be on ASG Faculty Honor Roll

November 7, 2018

Over the course of the 2017-2018 academic year, Associated Student Government (ASG)
collected nominations for the Faculty Honor Roll from the student body. Nearly 200
students submitted faculty members, writing thorough and complex portraits of the
educators who make Northwestern the institution that it is. ASG wishes to honor the
work of the faculty whose dedication and care for students led to their inclusion on this
list. Economic Professors honored include: Daley Kutzman, Scott Ogawa, and Eric Schulz.

Read more about the award winners here.

Faculty hailed for prestigious awards

November 7, 2018
This fall, Northwestern honors members of the faculty who have brought distinction to the University by earning important external recognition in the past year. Recipients include Seema Jayachandran, Charles Manski, Joel Mokyr, Robert Porter, and Morton Schapiro.


Joel Mokyr Given Honorary Doctorate by the Uruguay University, Universidad de la República

October 26, 2018

Joel Mokyr has been given an honorary doctorate by the Uruguay University, Universidad de la República, in economic history. This is one more of many examples of his outstanding world-wide reputation. 


Joel Horowitz elected as a Fellow of the International Association for Applied Econometrics

September 27, 2018

Joel Horowitz was elected a Fellow of the IAAE in September. The IAAE fellows include a select leading group of researchers in the areas of theoretical and applied econometrics. The Fellowship position is reserved for economists who have made significant contributions in Econometrics, broadly defined. 

To read more about IAAE and the founding members, please visit their website.

Joel Mokyr receives the 2018 Elinor Ostrom Prize

September 18, 2018
The annual Elinor Ostrom Prize competition of £1000 is awarded to the best paper published in the Journal of Institutional Economics in the preceding year. The winner of the 2018 Elinor Ostrom Prize is Avner Greif and Joel Mokyr (2017) “Cognitive rules, institutions and economic growth: Douglass North and beyond” JOIE 13(1): 25-52.
Back to top